Want to know the secret to Love that Lasts?

No romantic relationship is ever all roses and no thorns. I mean, here you are,  two different individuals who’ve come together because you have a soft spot for each other. If you’re lucky, this soft spot will always be there and it will always draw you to your person but be sure there is bound to be thorns every once in a while all you can do is hope that the thorns are not bigger than the rose buds, right? When thorns start showing up in your relationship, this is where knowing how to love your partner flaws and all comes in.

In order to love someone else, you must love yourself first! It is therefore very important to know your own love language and communicate it with your partner- I doubt any mind readers exist.

Discover your love language and improve your relationships

In his book “The 5 Love Languages” Gary Chapman explains what a love language is, how important it is to know your love language, and how you can identify your own love language for a better and much stronger relationship. A relationship where you can be loved and be appreciated the way you feel you deserve to would be the most ideal relationship for most.

According to Gary Chapman these are the 5 love languages:
1.Acts of Service

If you speak this love language then you know that a partner who helps you lessen your burden of responsibilities and not add to them, loves you best. Laziness, broken commitments, and making more work for you  tells you that your feelings don’t matter. When others serve you out of love (and not obligation), you feel truly valued and loved.

2.Quality Time

Distractions, postponed activities, or the failure to listen can be especially hurtful to you. Whether itʼs spending uninterrupted time talking with someone else or doing activities together, you deepen your connection with others through sharing time.

3.Words of Affirmation

Actions don’t always speak louder than words. You thrive on hearing kind and encouraging words that build you up.

4.Receiving Gifts

If you speak this language, the perfect gift or gesture shows that you are known, you are cared for, and you are prized above whatever was sacrificed to bring the gift to you. A missed birthday or a hasty, thoughtless gift would be disastrous. Gifts are heartfelt symbols to you of someone else’s love and affection for you.

5.Physical Touch

Hugs, pats on the back, and thoughtful touches on the arm are ways to show excitement, concern, care, and love. Physical presence and accessibility are crucial, while neglect or abuse can be unforgivable and destructive. Appropriate and timely touches communicate warmth, safety, and love to you.

To love and be loved back is what most of us live for. Going through life with that one person who makes life that much more interesting is a damn good thing. Many relationships fall apart because people are too selfish to care about another person’s feelings. Knowing my love language has really improved my relationships and I bet knowing yours will do the same for you.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *